Finished! · Home Dec · Modern Sewing

Home Dec Sewing!

First off, thank you so much everyone for your lovely comments on my last post about our new place! As promised, here’s a look at some of the home decorating projects I’ve been working on. Since all of them involve square or rectangular pieces of fabric and were fairly straightforward to construct, I decided to combine them all into one post.

IMG_2358

The first thing I made for our new place (and on the day of the housewarming party, no less!) were pillows for the couch. The two tan ones came with the couch, but I wanted some other pillows, as well. I didn’t use a pattern at all for these, just cut out squares of fabric based on the dimensions of the pillow form.

IMG_2347

I also made a quilted wall hanging for the kitchen using a neat fabric panel I found on Etsy.

IMG_2350

Next up were Union Jack quilted coasters! I used this fabric from Riley Blake’s British Invasion collection. Interested in making your own quilted coasters? I have a tutorial here!

IMG_2354

Finally, though not a sewing project per se (more like a stapling project), I tried my hand at upholstery and reupholstered my old vintage vanity bench. I really wished I had taken a before picture, but alas, I was too staple-happy to remember to do so, and I did this project on the day of our housewarming party, as well (nothing like procrastination!). I’m really glad I got it done that day, though, as it was a really big hit at the party and people loved sitting on it.

IMG_2356

I want to make some new pillows for the bedroom, as well and maybe reupholster my sewing chair, but those will be future projects. πŸ˜‰

 

13 thoughts on “Home Dec Sewing!

  1. I’m getting a bit of a Swinging Sixties vibe from this. Love! (Speaking of the Sixties, have you watched “Breathless” yet on PBS? Lots of excellent 60’s decor and 50’s and 60’s vehicles.)

    1. Thanks! Sixties vibe was totally unintended, I just like the graphic look of the bold black and white together, but now that I look at it again, it does look mod, huh? I have not watched Breathless yet, nor heard of it! Thanks so much for the recommendation, I’ll have to check the PBS website, hopefully it’s on instant watch!

  2. I am head-over-heels in love with your quilted wall hangings. It’s one of the prettiest, most appealing takes on the chalkboard art trend I’ve seen to date and I would totally hang that, with glee, in my own home, too.

    β™₯ Jessica

Leave a Reply

