Personal · Vintage

Home Sweet Home

IMG_2308

Sorry for my absence from these here webparts, readers, but I have a good reason for that – Peter and I moved!

We now live in an adorable 6-plex that was built in 1941, and it has some great features, including a fireplace and built-in vanity in the bathroom. The best part is that our landlady kept all of the walls painted (I so hate renting places where the walls are just plain white), which means that we have a blue living room, yellow kitchen, and pink bathroom (yes, pink bathroom!).

IMG_2305

All of the furniture was either stuff we already had or recently acquired off Craigslist (we didn’t get murdered and got some great pieces at really low prices, so win-win). I’ve also caught the home dec bug, and have been sewing like a mad woman for the apartment (we had a small housewarming for close friends and family last weekend). There are a couple more pieces I want to make, and then I plan on doing a blog post about those, ok? Ok.

New sewing corner

The one downside is that I don’t really have room to sew anywhere but the bedroom, so I’ve set aside a corner in the bedroom for my sewing machine. Luckily, we can poke holes in the wall, so I’ve decorated with some of my favorite vintage hats.

This is my third apartment since I’ve moved to Portland, and you would think that I’d be totally adept at moving, but I’m so not. Moving is just so disruptive to my usual routine and takes so much out of me. Plus, I always forget where I’ve put stuff, and end up creating lots of “I’ll deal with those later” boxes. Anyways, I’m absolutely smitten with the new place. It truly feels like home, and I don’t plan on moving again anytime soon.

19 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Adorable! I don’t know what I’m more jealous of, that fireplace or how neat and clean it is. It is magazine ready.
    Congratulations. I hope you can stay there a godd long while.

  2. Exciting! I love that fireplace in the living room. It has character, and I agree that having painted walls is quite nice. I look forward to your house sewing projects. 🙂

    Best,
    Quinn

  3. Adorable, and very (!) elegant that most certainly is. You are so lucky to have vintage digs of your own. We live in a condo that’s from the start of the 90s. It’s perfectly fine (for the most part ;)), but seriously lacks the charm, “bones”, and history of a mid-century gem like this. Congrats on your beautiful new abode!

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

