Finished! · Modern Sewing

The Cute as a Button Skirt

IMG_2170

We’ve been experiencing a bit of a heat wave in Portland this week, and so I’m frantically whipping up summer-appropriate clothes (almost all of the summer dresses I brought with me last year when I moved down here no longer fit. Silly weight gain!).

Pardon my squinting, it was like a million (okay 90) degrees outside.
Pardon my squinting, it was like a million (okay 90) degrees

This skirt was not a planned project at all, but a result of wandering into the Joann Fabrics clearance aisle (always dangerous for me!). Now, I do try to shop local as much as I can, but when doing commissions (which was the reason for this Joann’s trip), I find it more cost-effective for both me and the customer to use Joann’s since they have amazing coupons. Anyways, I happened upon this fabric on a bolt in the clearance aisle for $5 a yard. There was about 2 yards left on the bolt, perfect for a skirt. Best part? The skirt has a button print motif AND is blue and orange, which reminds me of my bestie as those are her favorite colors.

You have to look closely, but those circles are totes printed buttons.
You have to look closely, but those circles are totes printed buttons.

I used my typical “this is a gathered skirt so I’m just going to rip rectangles out of the fabric” pattern, which isn’t really a pattern at all. I love these skirts, as they go together with hardly any effort. That being said, I did do a slipstitch for the hem, as I didn’t quite have the correct shade of orange thread to match the fabric (this was definitely a stashbuster project when it came to notions).

IMG_2146

 

Anyone else doing fun summer sewing?

Leave a Reply

