1930s · Holidays · Outfit

Happy Independence Day!

IMG_2121

For my US readers, Happy Independence Day! I whipped up some patriotic dessert (blueberry pound cake with strawberries, yum!) and introduced British Boyfriend (TM) to Pop-Its, something he’d never heard of nor used before (he also referred to America as “The Colonies” throughout the day, which was quite amusing).

IMG_2071

I always try to dress vintage on 4th of July, and this year, decided to go for a 1930s casual vibe, as I’m working on a pair of reproduction beach pajamas for a vintage beach party I’m having next weekend (gah, so excited!!!). All of the clothing in this ensemble is modern, including the new red wedges I got from Modcloth (which, sadly, are no longer on their website).

IMG_2087

I did a faux 1930s bob for my hair, which took a bit of time (it’s the same style I did for the 1930s murder mystery party I attended. Tutorial coming soon, I promise!), although the head scarf really helped with keeping it in place.

IMG_2096

Hope everyone else had a fabulous 4th!

12 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day!

  1. Awesome outfit, sweet dear! It’s a refreshing chance of pace to see someone in the vintage realm rocking white pants. You’ve styled them so wonderfully. I really like that you opted for a nautical meets patriotic colour palette. For the first time in many years, I suddenly want a pair of white pants myself. May I ask, since you mentioned they’re modern, where did you get yours from?

    Big hugs & happy Sunday wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

    1. Aww, thank you so much, Jessica! I love the nautical feel of this outfit, as well, and so I think I’ll wear it again sans the pops of red. As for the pants, I found them several years ago at a thrift shop. Needless to say, they’ve been sitting in my closet for quite a while waiting to be worn (I’m such a clothes horse! I have several pieces like this that I’ve bought but never worn).

Leave a Reply

