1930s · Vintage

1936 Murder Mystery Dinner Party: The Watersdown Affair

IMG_1058

12032_10151961575064163_1997056821_n

IMG_1088

Readers, I attended my first murder mystery dinner party yesterday evening, and I have to say that I am hooked! The party was hosted by my friend, Kady (who has made many appearances on this blog and did a fabulous job with the party!) and centered around the murder of Sir Roger Watersdown, a wealthy Englishman. Of course, everybody had a motive (from Sir Roger’s personal secretary, to his physician), and there were so many plot twists that you really didn’t know who the true murderer was until the end (and, don’t worry, I won’t spoil it here!). There were 4 rounds, involving details that your character had to reveal or conceal, as well as fun bonuses like Sir Roger’s will.

moi

IMG_1086

I played Miranda “Randy” Shetes, an American actress who is financed by Sir Roger, and I wore a fabulous black silk and lace 1930s evening dress. I’ll also be attending a Gatsby Soiree next month, and that event combined with this 1936 party meant that I could finally justify the expense of a 1920s/1930s dress.

IMG_1030

As for the hair, that took quite a while. I scoured YouTube for 1930s hair tutorials for long hair, but many just involved lightly curling long pieces of your hair, and I wanted something more period-correct, so I decided to create this fake bob ‘do. It took a while (about an hour), but I’m very proud of the results (so much hairspray!) that I plan on making a video tutorial soon (extra motivation with the Gatsby party next month!)

IMG_1052

Peter (aka British Boyfriend (TM)) also came with and played Rog Astrid, a recreational mountain climber and the illegitimate son of Sir Roger (and he does look quite dapper, if I do say so myself!).

IMG_1083

It was so neat to see the other guests get into character and reveal secrets about their past (one of the heiresses used to be an acrobat!). The game also involved a cassette portion (it’s from the 90s like me!) and so I got to bring along my reproduction Crosley stereo that plays tapes, CDs, and records!

All in all, it was a fabulous evening of intrigue, suspense, and cats! I can’t wait to attend the next one!

3 thoughts on “1936 Murder Mystery Dinner Party: The Watersdown Affair

Leave a Reply

