1940s · Outfit · Vintage · Vintage Saturday

Vintage Saturday: Flying in Style

Departing a luxury vintage Pan Am plane. Ya know, just a typical Saturday for me.
Departing a luxury vintage Pan Am plane. Ya know, just a typical Saturday for me.

I spent a lovely afternoon today with my WWII peeps at the Historic Flight Foundation for their event, “The Art of the Flight Jacket.” I have to say that I am really loving this era, and I think in large part it’s because a lot of this stuff is all new to me, in addition to the fact that I now have an outlet to dress vintage. I mean, it’s nice to dress vintage about town, but having historic planes as a back-drop is way more fun. 😉

DSCN4962

After the presentation about flight jackets (which was heavily focused on WWII), there was a vintage fashion show (and I am aware of what a lucky duck I am, going to 2 vintage fashion shows in the same week!)

DSCN4965

And after that, we headed outstide to get some quick photos in this really neat luxury Pan Am DC-3 from the early 1950s. Luckily, I wore my late 50s/early 60s camel wool coat, because it was perfect for this.

DSCN4973

Anyways, I can’t wait to go back, as there are plans to do a photoshoot in this plane with vintage luggage, with yours truly possibly being a stewardess. I’ve always loved those little hats. 😉

12 thoughts on “Vintage Saturday: Flying in Style

Leave a Reply

