Blogging · Personal

Liebster Blog Award

Let me preface this post with a caveat: I’m horrible when it comes to blog awards and memes. Which I feel awful about, because I truly am grateful and really humbled by being the receipient of such lovely gestures. So, if you’ve sent me a meme or given me a blogging award and I haven’t responded to it yet, I apologize. It is absolutely nothing personal, and actually, when I receive blog awards/memes, I start thinking about how I’m going to answer the questions they typically come with, get really exicted about a post, and then life happens and those plans go out the window. I’ve decided to break this habit, and so I’m dedicating the month of April to responding and answering this blog awards and memes!

So, now that that is out of the way, the lovely Lara of dreamingofavonlea recently awarded me with the Leibster Award. Thank you so much, Lara! I’m tickled pink (and the logo is pink! he hee). Here are my answers to the 11 questions she asked:

1. If you had to describe your style by comparing it to a fictional character, who would that be and why?

Hmm, interesting question! It would have to be Rachel Berry from Glee. She wears a lot of vintage-inspired looks (well, not lately, she’s kind of into the short-shorts), and I love incorporating vintage-inspired into my everyday look. Plus, I get compared to her on a weekly basis. I mean, if Lea Michele ever were to die prematurely (knock on wood), I probably could replace her on Glee. After getting a tan, of course.
2. Do you have any other hobbies / obsessions as well as those you blog about (e.g. mine would be Harry Potter)?

Probably the Beatles. I have the biggest crush on Paul McCartney (yes, I know he’s old enough to be my grandfather, shut up) and I love listening to them in the car.
3. What is your favourite thing you’ve made / posted about and why? Remember to show us!

Probably my reproduction ballgown I wore to my first ball last month. I reached a personal goal of making a ballgown (something that has been on my wish list for ages) and I felt like a pretty princess in it. Oh, and I sewed it in a week, which even impressed me. 😉
4. And the least favourite?

Regency dress I made last year. I had high hopes for that thing, and used really good fabric to make it, but it’s just too small and too tight. It is for sale, though. 😉

5. If you could only make 3 more things and then you had to quit sewing forever, what would you make and why?

Oh, this is a toughie! I would probably make classic pieces that I’d want in my wardrobe forever and pieces that I had always wanted to make for the challenge. So, limiting myself to 3, those would be: 1) A classic trenchcoat (think Burberry), 2) an 18th century gown (something I’ve wanted to make forever), and 3) something vintage.
6. Where do you find inspiration?

Mostly old photographs. I love vintage photography. My southern grandma is also a big inspiration. I love looking at photos of her from the 40s, and she’s taught me to never leave the house without some form of jewelry on!
7. How do you feel about the whole lining vs facing vs binding debate (I may be imagining that it’s a debate)?

I’ve not heard of this debate! I will say that I’ll only put a lining in if I have to (ie if the fabric is sheer) and a facing in if I have to. Otherwise, I let my undergarments do the work. Oh, was that TMI?
8. What is your least favourite part of sewing (and do you do it anyway or cut corners)?

Fitting. And making a muslin mock-up. I’d much rather use a pattern I know will fit and go from there. But, if I’ll be cutting into fabric that is really valuable OR I know the design is not something that can easily be adjusted during the sewing process, then I will make a mock-up first.
9. How do you like your surroundings when you sew? I.e. Do you clean up as you go, listen to music, face the window, watch telly? Basically describe your sewing situation.

You, know I don’t really have a typical sewing situation. Sometimes I sew in between commercial breaks while watching tv with the fam, other times I’m in my room watching a costume drama and sewing along to that. I guess the common denominator is that I can’t sew in complete silence (so, when I’m not watching tv or a movie, I’ll listen to music).
10. If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why?

Well, being a history nerd, this is a tough question! Probably my Polish grandmother (babcia). A lot of the relatives say I look like her, but I never got to meet her since she died about 10 years before I was born. Apparently, she was very sassy as well!
11. Do you prefer to make things for yourself or others?

Myself, definitely. Of course, when people find out you sew, they automatically want you to make them something. I’m happy to sew for friends and family, but other than that, you better be paying me some good money to spend my precious sewing time on you. 😉 Gosh, I’m starting to sound like the Selfish Seamstress, huh?

So, that’s probably more than you wanted to know about my sewing habits (and Paul McCartney crush), but there you are, kids. 😉

4 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. This is the first sewing related one I’ve read! All the others I’ve read have been vintage. I really admire your historical sewing. It’s insane!

Leave a Reply

