1950s · 1960s · Reenacting · Vintage · Vintage Saturday

Vintage Saturday: What I would’ve worn to the Fur & Feathers Luncheon

DSCN4771
What a room full of history nerds eating dinner looks like . . .

Yesterday evening was Burns Dinner, the annual volunteer awards and recognition dinner for Fort Nisqually. I decided to go 1950s, wearing the outfit that I would’ve worn to the Fur and Feathers Luncheon last weekend (you can see fabulous event photos here and here. Don’t the ladies all look lovely!?), because though the organizers requested we wear “period clothing,” they never specified what period. 😉

DSCN4773

Readers, I got so many lovely compliments, from being compared to Judy Holliday and Lady Mary from Downton Abbey, to someone telling me I looked like I had walked off the set of Mad Men (gah!!!!). And I have to say that I am just so grateful to be part of nerdy, fabulous history community that embraces my quirky vintage side.

Of course, dressing vintage, I had to make a pineapple upside-down cake the for the potluck, and here I am triumphantly showing the leftovers in my vintage camel wool coat.

DSCN4779

I also got compared to an airline stewardess, so of course I had to do an airline stewardess pose once I got home.

DSCN4794

And dressing vintage would not be complete without the accessorires, right? In this case, I wore my blue velvet vintage hat, my pearl and diamond earrings, and my grandmother’s pearl necklace.

DSCN4790

I think every vintage-loving gal should have a sassy Southern grandmother to inherit pearls from, don’t ya think? 😉

6 thoughts on “Vintage Saturday: What I would’ve worn to the Fur & Feathers Luncheon

Leave a Reply

