1960s · Outfit · Vintage · Vintage Saturday

Vintage Saturday: Black cigarette pants

DSCN4754

Here’s to the weekend, readers! My original plan for today was to head down to Portland for the Fur and Feathers Luncheon Julie of Fab Gabs is hosting. However, I’ve been battling a horrible sinus headache this week (I even went home from work early on Thursday) and the drive to Portland is 4 hours round-trip, so I decided to stay home to catch up on some much-needed errands.  Of course, I want to be comfortable, yet chic, and I love dressing vintage on the weekends, so black cigarette pants were in order.

DSCN4763

I’ve been looking for a pair of black cigarette pants for ages, and I picked this pair up about two months ago and have been living in them ever since. They’re made by Gloria Vanderbilt (who also birthed one of my favorite dapper men, Anderson Cooper). Let me tell you, that gal knows how to make a pair of pants. I love to pair them with my black and white striped shirt (although the stripes are a bit narrow and hard to see here), ballet flats, and red lipstick for a modern 60s look.

Other than my boring run to the post office and grocery shopping, I also went to see Les Miserables today. I’m probably the last of my female friends to have seen it (even my bestie that I went with today had already seen it!), and I have to say, it didn’t entirely live up to all the hype surrounding it. Don’t get me wrong, the music was great (although, they could’ve let Russell Crowe sing less), but some of the costumes were a bit disappointing, and I would’ve liked to see Anne Hathaway belt out “I Dreamed a Dream.”. Overall, it was a good movie, and I thought Amanda Seyfried, Eddie Redmayne (who we all know I just adore), and Hugh Jackman all did fabulous jobs. Of course, now I have “Do You Hear the People Sing” and “Master of the House” stuck in my head. 😉

5 thoughts on “Vintage Saturday: Black cigarette pants

  1. I’m so bummed you weren’t able to make it! I hope you feel better soon. And maybe you can make it to the next event!

    And yay! Fellow Anders lover!!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Leave a Reply

