1950s · 1960s · The Vintage Closet · Thrifting · Vintage

The Vintage Closet: Warm woolies. And mink.

Readers, I’ve decided to start a new feature on the little blog here that I’m calling “The Vintage Closet.” You see, I believe I’m developing a shopping addiction, which is probably the direct result of working full-time and therefore having more money than time. It’s a weird thing to adjust to, because for so long I’d been a poor student that had more time than money. Anyways, with this shopping addiction comes not only the purchasing of more clothes for my modern wardrobe, but more clothes for my vintage one, as well. So, The Vintage Closet is my attempt to show you all the fabulous vintage things I’m filling my closet with!

DSCN4737

First off is the new 1950s blue wool sweater dress I just bought yesterday. I’m going to a “Fur and Feathers” luncheon next weekend (how fabulous does that sound!?) and wanted a blue vintage dress that I could combine with the mink collar I just got, as blue and brown just happens to be one of my favorite color combinations.

DSCN4738

I snapped up the mink collar after spotting it in my favorite local antique store, where I also got the pearl charm bracelet. I brought it home and my southern grandmother randomly told me one night while watching television, “You need to put fur on something” (we had been talking about the Fur and Feathers luncheon earlier that day). So, I grabbed the mink collar I had just bought and my black peacoat, draped it along the collar, and showed it to grandma. Of course, she replied, “You can’t get better than that.” No, grandma, you can’t. 😉

However, when I went to go sew the collar on, it was a bit too long for the coat, so I think it will work much better draped along the neck of the dress, like so:

DSCN4740

I also picked this cute 60s green wool blazer up while thrifting last week. I have no idea what I’m going to wear it to (or with), but that really doesn’t matter, does it? 😉

DSCN4742

Finally, if you haven’t entered the Multi-Era Pattern Giveaway yet, there’s still time! I’m giving away 3 patterns to 3 lucky readers, wouldn’t you like to be one of them?

6 thoughts on “The Vintage Closet: Warm woolies. And mink.

  1. Oh, what wonderful treasures!!

    I greatly look forward to all of the upcoming entries! And totally looking forward to seeing what you’ll wear for Fur and Feathers!!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    1. Oh, thank you so much!

      And I don’t have my outfit entirely planned out yet for F&F, so I need to do that this week. Silly job. Don’t they know I have more fabulous things to be doing!? 😉

Leave a Reply

