1850s · Holidays · Reenacting · Reenactments

Candlelight Christmas, 1859

Stringing popcorn!
Stringing popcorn!

Yesterday evening was my last reenactment of the year, Christmas at Fort Steilacoom. This event was a “candlelight” one, meaning that it took place at night, was solely 1st person (so, we stayed in character), and the audience was ignored. Not in a rude way, of course! The purpose in that is to make the audience feel as if they have actually time-travelled and are glimpsing upon the past.

Anyways, I wore my red wool basque (along with several other layers of wool), and green plaid shawl.

DSCN4627

I had a really lovely time, playing the Colonel’s engaged daughter. We spent the evening lighting the Christmas tree (with real candles!), singing carols, and reading a letter from my fake fiancee. Oh, and after the event was over and all the spectators had left, we had an impromptu dance party. Yep, that’s how us reenactors roll.

I finally got my arse in gear and got my gits made (I ran out of time to complete them for last weekend’s Christmas event). I made both homemade gingerbread loaves using this recipe (the packaging is also Martha Stewart he hee) and Victorian needlebooks using the instructions in Fanciful Utility.

DSCN4626

Speaking of Victorian needlebooks, head on over to The Sewing Academy if you’re interested in either making your own or winning one in a giveaway!

Also, in a random little note, this is my 100th post here on anna in technicolor! I’m thinking a giveaway may be in order. 😉

13 thoughts on “Candlelight Christmas, 1859

  1. Your gingerbread was so lovely, but I’m sad to report that it didn’t even last the night! Thank you so much! 🙂 It made the evening even more Christmas-y!!!

  2. Happy 100th Post Anna!!!
    Your needle-books came out too cute! I love the cards you picked, just love them.
    Your gingerbread loaves have just been added to my hopeful baking list.

  3. The fact that you get to do that is absolutely amazing! Though I’m sure being in the audience would be a wonderful experience too! Are you a fan of Hell on Wheels? I’ve fallen in love with the show!

    1. Oh, thank you so much! Believe me, I know how fortunate I am to be able to recreate history with such an amazing group of people.

      And I haven’t seen (nor heard of) Hell on Wheels, but I will definitely check it out!

      Your blog (and vintage style) are fabulous, btw. 😉

  4. Madam,

    Might you point me in the direction of a website that showcases the dress of both sexes from around 1820, regarding small towns/parishes in the heart of England, if even such a thing as that is possible?

    Andrew Fez

    1. Hmm, that’s an interesting research topic (and so sorry for not responding sooner, the holidays have been crazy for me!). From what I could find:

      Basic overview of 1820s styles via Wikipedia:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1820s_in_fashion

      Fashion-era.com has a good overview, as well:
      http://www.fashion-era.com/regency_fashion.htm

      For the gents:
      http://romancereaderatheart2.com/victorian/timeline/mensfashion/index.html

      It looks like there is no specific website for this, but that you’ll need to piece together pieces of info from lots of different places (which is coincidentally just what 1850s reenactors go through! 😉 The 1820s and 1850s don’t seem to be too popular in terms of 19th century fashion research). Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

