Holidays · Personal · Vintage

A Vintage Bird Beret and Small Business Saturday

First off, Happy Thanksgiving to all my US readers (and for non-US readers, hope you had a lovely Thursday!). I spent the day relaxing with family, doing just the right amount of cooking (I was responsible for the cranberry sauce and pumpkin cheesecake), and watching Skyfall (which made me miss London like crazy). Of course, I had to get dolled up, so I wore my red shirtdress, new black peacoat, and the latest addition to my wardrobe, my grey bird beret!

Bird hats are one of those quirky vintage style things that I love (Solanah even has a blog devoted to this very topic!), and when I found this hat last weekend while antiquing, I just had to have it. The birdie is made of beads, and there’s a little feather sticking out of the back.

Of course, I had to let Marshy try the hat on:

On a somewhat related note, as we enter the biggest shopping season of the year, I would just like to encourage you to support your local vintage and antique businesses and participate in Small Business Saturday! Part of the reason I’m able to continue with my passion for vintage is due to fabulous local stores that embrace the past.

Finally, I want to extend a huge apology for my lack of posting lately. I realize it’s not very becoming of a sewing blogger to post about their Halloween costume project, and then not blog again until Thanksgiving. To that, I can only say I am genuinely and sincerely sorry. I was almost at the end of finishing the Rachel Berry dress when I tried it on and realized that the waistline was not at my natural waistline, but an inch or so below a la the 1920s. So, the dress is currently in pieces. Besides that, I’ve been dealing with some stressful personal things lately (namely, I’m in the process of moving again for the 2nd time in the past 5 months) and have just not been motivated to sew. I’m hoping this picks up with all the holiday stuff I have planned to sew. 😉

8 thoughts on “A Vintage Bird Beret and Small Business Saturday

  1. this is adorable! such a cute outfit and the hat compliments it all very well! i am sorry to hear that you have felt stressed but hope everything settles down soon! happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

