Contemporary Pattern · Finished! · Modern Sewing · Personal

A modern skirt for work

“Work?” you ask? Yes, you heard that right!ย Work!

Readers, I’ve landed my first post-college job. Though office temp work is not the dream career of mine, it’s nice to finally have more than $200 in my checking account. Plus, there’s only so much daytime television watching one can do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, I started this past Monday and making the adjustment from mostly staying at home to working 40 hours a week has been quite difficult! I just come home exhausted and only feel like eating and napping. Except for a few hand-sewing projects (which I find soothing to do in the evenings), I’m giving myself permission this week to not really sew while I settle into a new routine. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, this is a skrit I recently finished for work. It’s another stash-busting project, with the zipper, fabric, and pattern (Butterick 5285) all coming from the stash.

While I like the final result, this fabric was just a nightmare to work with! It frays like crazy, and the pleats in the back got in the way when I went to put in the zipper.

Another thing I was a bit surprised with in beginning work is how casual everybody at the office dresses (I’m talking jeans and t-shirt casual, and not just on Fridays). Despite this, I’ve decided to adhere to the adage “dress for the job you want, not the job you have” and will not be giving up my pencil skirts, cardigans, or ballet flats anytime soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, how about you, readers? I’m curious: Have you ever made anything to wear to work? Do you dress professional in a sea of casual-ness?

17 thoughts on “A modern skirt for work

  1. Your skirt looks great! I have to admit, I wear jeans every day to work, but I try to dress it up with a blouse and/or sweater, no t-shirts. I’ve tried dresses and skirts, but I find I’m most comfortable sitting at a desk in jeans. Of course, I work for an agricultural company, so casual is common. Congrats on the job!

    1. Thank you so much!

      And I did wear jeans on Friday! You’re right, they are so much more comfy sitting at a desk! I’m going to have to start incorporating more pants and leggings into my wardrobe, sitting in a skirt for 8+ hours can be a bit uncomfy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. This is so cute! I love the shape of the skirt– it’s the perfect length, and the pleats are classic and flirty! I wear jeans to work every day and feel like it’s a good day if I’m wearing a t-shirt!

  3. Congratulations on you new job! I like dressing up for work and generally wear a skirt – even on fridays when everyone else wears jeans, I’ll wear a more casual dress instead. I actually prefer to sit at my desk in a skirt because it saves any awkward bum-crack moments which can occasionally occur in my low cut jeans!! P.S your new skirt is really cute.

  4. this is a great skirt for work! I am lucky enough to now be able to wear anything at work. So I have worn anything from boring jeans and tshirt, to a 50a circle dress. lol. And now I wear my creations on rotation at work! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thanks so much! And how nice to have open-ended wardrobe options at work! I love wearing me-mad items to work and then seeing reactions when I tell them that I made it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Unprompted, of course. I only tell them this after they comment on my dress/skirt (I don’t go around the office randomly telling people that I made what I’m wearing). ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Beautiful skirt – just the kind of piece you could dress up or down and weave into outfits styled after the fashions of several different decades with complete ease.

    I don’t usually sew my own clothing, but I have always veered towards looking professional and polished no matter the work environment I’ve been in. Though I’ve been self-employed for many years now, back when I was part of the 9-5 world, I think I was the only person who didn’t get excited about “causal Fridays”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    โ™ฅ Jessica

  6. Fancy that! Darlin’ I too am an office temp! My office is casual as well, the fine ladies I work with aren’t the most stylish. In fact one of them wears jeans!! And those converse shoes! I’ve even seen her wear flip flops…in an office! It’s downright strange. Glad to see I’m not the only one dressin’ up in the office! I especially like to spruce up an outfit with some bright red lipstick. This is a great office skirt you’ve made here, I’m fixin’ to make one of my own, real similar to this! Thanks miss Anna!

Leave a Reply

