Finished! · Vintage

Vintage photo shoot

I look just like I came out of a catalog, don’t ya think?

So, the weekend before last, I had my first photo shoot with my friend Lauren (you may recall that I made her a graduation dress a few months back). Anyways, I wanted to get some better photos of the red suspender skirt ensemble, since I was in such a rush the morning of the 1938 picnic. My eventual goal is to put together a professional portfolio of things I’ve sewn,ย and this was a perfect project to start with.

The shoot was held in the Nisqually Valley, where there are a number of antique barns (I love old buildings!), in addition to a wildlife refuge with gorgeous scenery.

You can’t really see them, but there are ducks back there!

Lauren was absolutely amazing to work with, despite this being my first pro shoot (usually, I just bribe somebody in the family to be my human tripod). She really put me at ease and I can’t wait for our Halloween shoot next month!

To see more photos from this shoot, check out the Flickr album here!

11 thoughts on “Vintage photo shoot

  1. These pictures are wonderful! I always find it uncomfortable to be in front of the camera, which is a shame because I would really like to better document my handmade garments. I should push myself and set myself a goal like yours of having a nice portfolio!

  2. Lovely! When my (professional) friends took photos, I admit to ruining half of them by pulling faces because I was uncomfortable… but you look fantastic! I think I am going to have a glass of wine on an empty stomach before the next photo shoot. Well done! I love the red on the dress!

    1. Oh, thank you so much for that incredibly lovely comment! And the photoshoot wasn’t entirely comfortable – there were people around staring!

      Oh, and I recommend eating something with the glass of wine. You don’t want to be too tipsy during your shoot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

