Blogging · Personal

Just for funsies: a blog meme

No in-progress or finished sewing projects to show you today, readers! Instead, I’ve been tagged by my dear friend, Danusha, to participate in this really fun blog meme. Danusha runs two blogs, one about Poland, and another one about her latest published work, “Save, Send, Delete.” She’s a very gifted writer, and I highly recommend checking her out!

The rules for the blog meme are this:
1.) The person who’s nominated must post eleven facts about themselves.
2.) Answer the eleven questions the tagger has given you.
3.) Choose eleven people and link them on your blog post. (I’m not tagging anybody, so if you want to participate, please do!)
4.) Create eleven questions for the people you tagged.
5.) Tell them you’ve tagged them on their blog.
6.) No tag backs!

So, if you want to know 11 random facts about me, my answers to Danusha’s questions about writing, and my 11 questions for any sewing bloggers that would like to participate, please read on!

11 random facts about me:

  • I’m half Polish, and half American (my father is from Poland, having immigrated in the late 80s and my mom is from California).
  • My favorite color is red.
  • I’m a complete Anglophile.
  • I became a fabric hoarder at the age of 19. 😉
  • Despite joking that I’m going to wind up as an old lady cat spinster, I’m actually more of a dog person.
  • I can’t drink coffee. I’ve tried so many times to drink the stuff, but I can never finish a cup.
  • I have the biggest sweet toooth.
  • My favorite book is Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.
  • I’m a complete klutz and at the age of two, ran smack-dab into the wall and had to have stitches (I still have a scar, btw).
  • Since we’re on the subject of embarassing childhood things, I was chubby as a kid.
  • I’m a total stress cleaner. My apartments throughout college were always the cleanest during exam weeks.

Answers to Danusha’s questions:

1.) If you could not be a writer, and you had to be some other artist – a singer, a painter, a mime, a puppeteer – what kind of artist would you be and why?

Probably a singer, but I would be a 20s Vaudeville performer and only go on stage in beaded evening gowns and t-strap heels.
2.) Who would be the dream interviewer to quiz you about your work? Sixty Minutes’ Mike Wallace? Fresh Air’s Terry Gross? Johnny Carson? Larry King? Entertainment Tonight?

Hands-down, Oprah Winfrey. I grew up watching her and really mourn the fact that she cancelled her show. That being said, I admire her abilities as an interviewer so much, both her ability to be humourous and also get you to reveal soul-crushing secrets you normally never would. 😉

3.) Your favorite childhood fictional hero or heroine.

Jane Peck from Boston Jane. She was smart, sassy, and still a lady despite ending up in the wilds of Washington Territory in the 1850s.

4.) Have you lived up to what you dreamed when you read about your favorite childhood fictional hero or heroine?

I like to think I have through reenacting. 😉

5.) Your happiest moment as a writer.

Hmm, this is a toughie! At least as a blogger, reading comments from people that have read my posts and find them helpful is incredibly fulfilling.

6.) Are you a tuxedo / evening gown writer, a broken-in jeans writer, a nude writer, a flowing caftan writer … ?

Hmm, well I definitely have to be comfortable to write my blog posts! Right now, I’m in my red pedal pushers, but oftentimes, I’m writing blog posts in the mornings or evenings in my jammies. I know, glamourous, right? 😉

7.) Your personal writing deity?

Sylvia Plath. I know a lot of her stuff is morbid, but she just has this uncanny ability to connect with the audience. I remember reading a quote from a professor somewhere that said that after her students read “The Bell Jar” they felt that Sylvia Plath was writing their life experiences, or that they were somehow the reincarnation of Sylvia Plath. I think this really speaks to her ability as an author.
8.) Hard copy, screen, handwritten in ink, typewriter & whiteout?

Screen! I’m so 21st century in that way, but I love having the ability to backspace and copy and paste. 😉

9.) If you had to choose between your writing moving people deeply, or your writing educating people factually, which would it be?

Probably educating. I don’t think there’s anything deeply moving about basting or pin-tucks, but if I can teach people a new sewng technique or  help explain one that they were afraid to try before, I’d be a happy camper.

10.) Has being a writer helped or hurt your romantic life?

Neither. It’s just sort of like Switzerland, neutral.

11.) How do you reward yourself?

Food or fabric. 😉

I’m not tagging anybody, so if you’d like to participate, I’d love to hear your answers to the following:

  1. How did you learn to sew?
  2. Do you prefer hand or machine sewing?
  3. What is your dream project?
  4. Favorite fabric to work with?
  5. Sewing for others: love it or loathe it?
  6. Favorite thing that you’ve sewn (either for yourself or somebody else)?
  7. Biggest sewing disaster you’ve ever had?
  8. Do any of your friends or family sew?
  9. Favorite sewing notion?
  10. Do you prefer working with store bought sewing patterns, or drafting/draping your own?
  11. Do you have a dressform?
5 thoughts on “Just for funsies: a blog meme

  1. Anna, wow! You just made my day. I SO loved reading your responses to my questions. You said stuff I never would have predicted (educate v. move emotionally) and other stuff that struck me as so right and obvious I should have predicted it (Oprah!) And one thing that really surprised me — Sylvia Plath !!! (???) and the book you liked … never heard of it … but it sounds so cool and reenacting is such a perfect period to that sentence.

    Have you read “Mrs. Mike” or “Christy”?

    Anyway, thank you so much. Great stuff.

  2. This is fabulous!! I heard you make mention of being Polish at the 1938 Picnic, but I simply expected the typical Grandfather or Great Grandfather was an immigrant. Thanks for sharing!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Leave a Reply

