1930s · Blogging · Finished! · Vintage

The 1938 picnic!

Yesterday morning I headed down to Vancouver (the one in Washington, not Canada!) for a fabulous 1938 picnic hosted by Solanah of Vixen Vintage!

Readers, there truly is nothing better than spending the afternoon with fellow witty history nerds, discussing topics from estate sales to wearing girdles on planes while dressed to the nines in vintage and reproduction clothing. I met some super fabulous vintage gals at the picnic, including Julie of Fab Gabs, Janey of Atomic Readhead, and of course Solanah!

In true annaintechnicolor style, I finished my suspender skirt ensemble the morning of. The pattern was originally printed in 1946, and I had to grade it up a bit to fit me (you can check out my tutorial on how to do that here!).

The suspender skirt is made of a red linen-rayon blend, and despite prewashing it three times, it still bled (mostly onto my whie blouse, unfortunately). It even bled onto the edge of my sewing machine, which I discovered this afternoon when I used it for the first time again since Thursday evening when I was frantically hemming while watching Project Runway. 😉

The hat is an original from the 20s or 30s. It’s made of this gorgeous leather, and fits me like a glove! I got it from Realm of Regalia at the Civil War Reenactment last month. And the shoes are actually a modern pair that I bought in Berlin 3 summers ago. 😉

Unfortunately, I had to leave early to head over to the Pendleton Mill in Washougal for my annual wool fabric shopping trip. I restrained myself and only bought 4 yards of fabric and a cute sweater (they also sell clothes!). No photos of my haul, but I did snap a quick close-up of my hair while mom was looking at blankets. I have to say, that I’m quite proud that I achieved at least one vintage fingerwave!

Alright, that’s it for now. Hope everyone is having a lovely (and relaxing!) weekend so far.

14 thoughts on “The 1938 picnic!

  1. Oh my gosh! I didn’t realize that your hat was leather! I didn’t get a good look at it. I simply loved your outfit too, I feel bad that I never got to say so in person though. So sorry to hear about the bleeding though. 😦 That’s a shame.

    I hope we’ll see more of each other at future vintage-y events!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    1. thank you! And you’re saying it now, so that’s fine (he hee). And I would love to see you at future vintage-y events as well! we definitely don’t have enough of them here on the Puget Sound!

  2. Looks like you had a great time! Your hat is tres chic! Sorry about the fabric bleeding. Eager to see your new fabric.

    1. Thank you! And I did have a great time! The new fabric is just some black tropical wool, nothing too exciting but I have some 1950s outfits planned with it that I’m hoping to pair with crazy print tops to make it a bit more exciting. 😉

  3. Ooh, this is adorable! I love it! I’ve heard you can set red fabric dye by soaking it in a solution of vinegar and water. Maybe that will stop it from further bleeding!

    1. Thank you! And funnily enough, I actually prewashed the fabric 3 times before using it (twice in vinegar, and once in a salt solution). I’d heard the same thing about the vinegar, and thought that 3 prewashes would be enough to prevent any further bleeding. Apparently not!

Leave a Reply

