1850s sewing · Dress · In-Progress

Buried beneath a pile of costumes

As normally happens in the lead-up to a weekend-long event, I’m frantically sewing away on lots of different things. Of course, I have way more projects than time to sew them, so I’ve had to scale back a bit from my original plans (whole new set of mid-19th century underthings by Friday afternoon!? Yeah, not gonna happen). Luckily, I was able to get a lot of sewing done this weekend while I house-sat for my mom. In between watching copious amounts of television and sitting in front of the fan, since it was hotter than Hades. I only really ventured outside when it was necessary (like to check the mail or take the dog out). I just don’t do well in the heat, I’m very pale and delicate, as I’m sure you all know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But, I just thought I’d share aย quick shot of my in-progress work dress for this weekend (sorry I don’t have more than this to show you! So many of my projects are in various stages of completion right now).

Yes, internet, this is what annaintechnicolor looks like without any make-up.

The bodice is yoked (meaning the front is 2 pieces – a smooth top and fuller bottom) and because of the motif on the fabric, I was able to play around with the design while I pleated it to get this really neat squiggle effect. I plan to be very “Jane Eyre chic” in it while I haul water and firewood this weekend. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

8 thoughts on “Buried beneath a pile of costumes

  1. how cute! I love the colour and print and the squiggles are a lovely touch! ๐Ÿ˜€ This is so nice! just shows what a good fabric selection and a little detail can do! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Aww, thank you so much for that lovely comment! And I can’t take all the credit for the fabric – it was payment from a client for a dress commission. She definitely has great taste! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

