corset · Finished! · Pattern · Puget Sound Ladies Costume Society · Regency era costuming · Underpinnings

The Bastille Day Picnic!

This past weekend was the Puget Sound Ladies Costume Society Bastille Day Picnic. We ate tons of yummy food, chatted lots, and even learned how to make lavendar wands!

Isn’t Nona’s shawl just fabulous!?

As I mentioned before, due to time constraints, I decided to go Regency. My dress is made from about 3 yards of black and white swiss dot, using Simplicity 4055 (which a few of the other ladies at the picnic had used, as well!). Despite lowering the neckline about an inch, it’s still a bit too high for my personal preference.

The other issue I had (which luckily you can’t see in the photos) is that the dress wouldn’t close all the way in the back. Luckily, the drawstring ties kept it together, but there was a gap back there (and interestingly enough, I always seem to have this issue when I costume for other eras, most recently, my Lady Mary dress for the Titanic tea).  Since I can’t lace the stays any tighter to make my top half smaller and I don’t want to go through the bother of taking the dress apart and re-doing it, I’ve decided to let this one go. If anyone is in the market for a Regency dress, please let me know!

The hair was quite an experience! I totally forgot to get a picture of the back of it during the event, but, luckily, my friend, Kristen, snapped a photo of it.

I used this fabulous tutorial for most of it, although instead of pulling the front part of my hair to the back, I curled it, as this was fashionable in the Regency.

Also, I finished the stays on Saturday. I really like them, although this is the first corset I made where I can definitely feel my lungs being pressed together. 😉

Anyways, I’m back to working on mid-19th century stuff for the epic Civil War Reenactment I have coming up this weekend. Seriously, I haven’t been this excited for an event in a long time. Luckily, my fake auntie has decided to rent a hotel room for the occasion, so I won’t be camping out.  I’ll get the intense mid-19th century camping out experience next month at Brigade. 😉

12 thoughts on “The Bastille Day Picnic!

    1. I’m guessing this is the first time you’ve said that to a lady. Repeat after me, “Ma dea! Your undergarments look super alluring in an old timey way, if ah do say so myseyf” *true blood accent (because that somehow seems way more authentically old timey to me than ‘English accent’* 😄

  1. Anna I might be interested in the dress. How much? and could you bring it this weekend so that I could try it on?
    -Micaila

  2. oMG I have that pattern. I’ll be making something from it the next dress up party I attend. And I won’t need to make a boob corset either-hahahaha 😄
    Seriously though-everything you make is so realistic-I would not have guessed you used that pattern. I would’ve guessed you were wearing your great great great (great?) grandma’s things. =D

    1. Oh my gosh, thank you so very much for that lovely comment! Being told that your reproduction looks like the real deal is perhaps the greatest compliment a costumer can get, and I’m tickled pink that you thought it was something in the family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

