Holidays · Modern Sewing · Refashion

Happy 4th!

For my US readers out there, happy 4th of July! I had a pretty relaxed day spent with the family, but I did get a chance to do some sewing in the morning. Anyways, I always try to dress both patriotic AND vintage on the 4th, and this year I wanted to wear pedal pushers. Even though I have the Colette Clover, I have so many historic sewing commissions I’m working on for other people that sewing time for me is a rare luxury. Since they really don’t sell pedal pushers these days (and vintage reproduction capris are *so* expensive), I decided to refashion a pair of cropped pants from Banana Republic that I thrifted last week for $4. It was so quick and easy to do, and an hour later, I had a cute new pair of pants!

Don’t worry, I’ll have a tutorial on how to do this up by Friday. 😉

Here are some more snapshots from the day:

My sister, the photographer:

My shoes are just too cute not to show. 😉

I picked some strawberries from my mom’s garden . . .

. . .  to eat with the strawberry shortcakes I made! Strawberry shortcake is one of my favorite desserts, and after trying numerous recipes, thisis definitely my favorite.

Hope everybody else had a lovely day!

11 thoughts on “Happy 4th!

  1. Love the outfit! The picture of you and the dog made me laugh out loud – he looks so ecstatic! 😛
    I was actually craving strawberry shortcake earlier; it’s the perfect summer food. . .

    1. It is the perfect summer food!

      And as for the puppy – as you know, the weather was finally good for the first time in a long time here, so we let him play outside and he just spent hours rolling around in the freshly-cut grass, getting in the garden (where he shouldn’t be) and getting dirty. So yes, he was very ecstatic and wearing his “proud and dirty” face! 😉

Leave a Reply

