1960s · Contemporary Pattern · Finished! · Modern Sewing · Vintage · Vintage Saturday

And so I wore a red shirtdress instead

This past weekend was my college graduation party, and I’m still recovering from all the fabulous-ness!

As you recall, I had planned on making a fabulous red silk party dress. However, instead I wore the red shirtdress I made for my 21st birthday last year (but never blogged about). I realized the morning of the party while doing all the food prep that a) I wasn’t going to have time to finish the dress and b) even if I did, I would be freezing in a sleeveless dress in overcast, rainy Washington weather. Because, of course, a garden party in Washington state involves cloudy and overcast weather. 😉

Old photo from my 21st birthday, when I was 6 months younger . . .

Anyways, this shirtdress is made out of a stretch red cotton poplin, with the buttons being ones that I took off a shirt that my mom used to wear when I was a kid (don’t worry, she gave me the shirt to take the buttons off of! I didn’t start hacking away at things in her closet). This is the third shirtdress I’ve made (the other two being very vintage-inspired with either floral prints or polka dots), and I use a very heavily modified version of (the now out-of-print) McCalls 2094 for the top, and then just drafted my own skirt. Though I’m not participating in Sunni’s fabulous shirtdress sewalong, I am eager to try the pattern that they are using, Simplicity 1880. Although, I have to admit that being the lazy seamstress that I am, having a shirtdress pattern that I already know fits me is very tempting, in that I’m not sure I want to go through the hassle of making a muslin for another pattern.

Slippers!

I also paired the shirtdress with my new black and white gingham slippers (with red polka dot bows!) that I recently got from my favorite Polish auntie! She wears these slippers all the time, especially in the kitchen when she cooks (she’s a fabulous cook, btw) and I just had to have a pair. Luckily, she bought two pairs of them, and since my sister didn’t want the other (yay!) I now have a second pair for when this pair wears out.

As usual, I made way too much food and now have a ton of leftovers. Silly me forgot to take a picture of the whole food set-up, but here were my two favorite things I made.

A fruit tart, cobbled together from many different Martha Stewart recipes . . . .

. . . .  and fruit tartlets! I put them on this super chic stand (originally designed for cupcakes) that I got from Michael’s for a really good price. Of course, the tartlet shells kept breaking when I went to go fill them, so I didn’t have quite as many as I wanted for the stand, so I just topped it with organic strawberries from my mom’s garden and nobody really complained. 😉

Anyways, it was a really great party (if I do say so myself!) and it was lovely to see so many old friends and catch up! I got some super awesome gifts, and I’m just humbled to have such kind and generous people in my life who took time out of their busy lives to help me celebrate such a momentous occasion.

13 thoughts on “And so I wore a red shirtdress instead

  1. Holy cow, this dress is ADORABLE! It’s seriously the perfect dress. JEALOUS!!

    Your desserts look amazing! I’m so glad you guys had a good time! Congrats again!

  2. Congratulations on your graduation Anna! I love seeing all your beautiful (and yummy) creations. The dress is tres chic and looks great on you. And the fruit tarts, ….looks like you’re an accomplished cook as well. Happy to hear you had a fun celebration and best wishes as you begin new things.

    1. Kim, thank you so much for such a sweet and lovely comment, you are too kind. 🙂 and best wishes to you, as well, with your new adventure in motherhood! Hope the pregnancy is going well!

Leave a Reply

