1850s · Commission · Contemporary Pattern · Modern Sewing

Weekend: dress toile, concert, and dyeing fabric for the first time!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend, readers! I had quite a busy and productive weekend, and I thought I would share some of the highlights with you all!

The red zipper is there because I didn't have a white one that was long enough. Oh, and red and white are Polish flag colors. 😉

 First up is the toile for the ‘Wing it On” dress commission that I’m working on! I used Simplicity 2588 as the base, and except for taking in a little excess at the waist, it fits! I’ll probably do a gathered rather than a pleated skirt on the final version, tho.

After the dress fitting (and subsequent little dinner party I threw together) I headed downtown with some of my closest friends to see Ingrid Michaelson play! Readers, she was amazing live. Incredibly funny, witty, and talented. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any really good photos (our seats were up on the balcony), but luckily somebody on Youtube has kindly uploaded one of her songs from last night, and you can view it here.

Finally, I dyed some fabric for the first time today! I’m working on a collar reproduction for the exhibit that opens this week, and the collar needs to be black, but the vintage tatting that I used was white, so I decided to construct the whole thing in white and then dye it. Anyways, I got the white collar done . . . .

. . . . and then dyed it and it came out dark purple!

Not quite the color I was going for . . .

I used Rit and still have half the package left, so I think I’m going to re-dye it (but probably use more salt this time). Dyeing fabric is an interesting process, made more so when you have OCD tendencies like I do. 😉 I made sure to wear gloves and used the trash-bag-in-the-plastic-tub method (thanks, Poject Runway for that one!), but every time I turned the sink on to add more water to the dye bath (I put the tub in the sink), the black dye water would splatter, and I would get freaked out about it staining the porcelain sink since the sink is part of the apartment I rent, so I had to take off my dye-soaked yellow glove and get a paper towel and blot the splatches away. Anyways, it turns out that powdered Comet is excellent at getting out dye stains from porcelain. 😉

Alright, off to get myself ready for tomorrow before Mad Men comes on! Have a nice evening, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Weekend: dress toile, concert, and dyeing fabric for the first time!

Leave a Reply

