Modern Sewing · Thrifting

New (to me) White sewing machine!

Happy Friday, everyone! I’ve been working on a few sewing projects, but I thought I would share with you the new (to me) sewing machine that I picked up this week for around 7 bucks. Yep, 7 bucks. 😉

Despite battling an icky cold all week, I managed to come away with this treasure Wednesday evening during a chance thrifting trip with my mom. I was headed straight to the linens section (like I usually do) when mom spotted a sewing machine in a white plastic case. After taking off that case, the machine was covered by this cute little sewing machine cover:

Anyways, the machine looked pretty good at the store (meaning it was all in one piece he hee) and I was able to plug it in and make sure that it worked before I brought it home. The best thing was definitely the price. The machine was originally $13.99, but mom had a 50% off coupon, so I paid around $7 for it. Definitely a steal, considering some of the reviews that I’ve read about this machine since purchasing it.

Now, I already have a sewing machine and certainly don’t need another one. Actually, having 2 sewing machines makes me feel a bit like a crazy old lady sewing machine hoarder with cats. However, my rationale for this (hoarders always have rationales, don’t they? lol) is two-fold: One, I split my time between my parents’ house and my apartment in Seattle, and lugging a sewing machine back and forth on the bus is a pain in the rear. Second, this new (to me) sewing machine is a bit more of a hassle to use, both because things are not where I’m used to them being and especially because it doesn’t have a drop in bobbin (which I’m used to) but rather this fancy-pants bobbin contraption where you basically have to take the whole machine apart to put a bobbin in:

Despite this, and after reading through the manual a few times, I did get the machine threaded and the bobbin in place so I could test out some of the stitches. Readers, it sews *so* much smoother than my crappy Singer sewing machine (which probably needs a tune-up). And, even though I’m still getting used to it, I think it will be a great machine to have at home for sewing costumes, as they usually only require a basic straight seam, and I typically keep all my layers of underpinnings for my costumes at home, making fittings difficult anywhere else.

Anyways, I start school up again on Monday (today’s the last day of spring Break, and unfortunately I spent most of it sick), but Sunday is the season 5 premiere of Mad Men and I’ve decided to throw a little 1960s cocktail party to celebrate! I’m still finalizing the menu, but I know that we definitely will be having a pineapple upside-down cake (the quintessential 1950s dessert). Other than that, I’m totally open to any culinary suggestions. 🙂

Have a nice weekend!

3 thoughts on “New (to me) White sewing machine!

  1. Ooh, new sewing machine! Yay! What a steal! I hope you two have many happy years together. 🙂

    Pineapple upside-down cake is perfect! What about a molded jello salad? Or a cheeseball?

    1. He hee, why thank you. 😉 I’m sure we will have many happy years together lol.

      And those are good suggestions for 60s food! I actually picked my mom’s brain yesterday about this (she was alive in the 60s, but I won’t reveal her age) and I decided to go with chicken fricassee. It seemed the most classy out of her other suggestions of meatloaf or fishsticks. 😉

Leave a Reply

