1850s · Holidays · Reenactments

1859 Valentine’s Day Tea

First off, I want to say a big “thank you!” to all my readers out there for being patient while I’ve been absent from here and dealing with some icky personal things. I finally feel like I’m getting back to some semblance of normalcy, even if it is a new normal.

So, today is Valentine’s Day, and instead of a post about how I’m spending Single’s Awareness Day this year (which, for those curious, will probably involve copious amounts of ice cream eating with my good friends Ben & Jerry accompanied by watching Glee and then New Girl), I thought I would post about this past weekend’s reenactment, the 1859 Valentine’s Day Tea!

So, every February at Fort Steilacoom we have a tea fundraiser, and this year, the organizers decided to go with a Valentine’s Day theme, since the day of the tea and the holiday are so close together.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any photos of the event itself, as it’s a first-person event and I was running a bit late in helping the other gals get ready upstairs. But, I did get a few photos after the event on the porch.

For this event, I wore my Neopolitan plaid wool dress, since it has pink in it and I thought that was fitting for Valentine’s Day. I portrayed Susanna Kincaid Thompson, an American settler from Kentucky who was married to a local businessman who owned 3 hotels in the area. Fortunately, I only had one slip-up during the event, which happened when the event organizer came up to the table that I was at (each reenactor sits with members of the public during the event as part of the socializing during the tea) and asked me how my “daughter” was. Being a single, childless woman in the 21st century, I was shocked a bit at first, but then remembered that Susanna had a 2 year-old daughter in 1860, meaning that she had a 1 year-old daughter in 1859. Silly me forgot to do the math on that one. Ooops. 😉

My bestie, Nona, was able to make it up from school down in Oregon to attend.

All in all, it was a fabulous reenactment that involved lots of tea-drinking, dessert-eating, and socializing, and that resulted in some really neat developments that I hope to talk about here soon (I don’t want to jinx it!).  

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

9 thoughts on “1859 Valentine’s Day Tea

  1. I love your blog, Anna! Thanks for re-capping the day for me, since
    I’m no longer involved in it. I miss being there, but not all of the pre-
    and post planning and cleanup!
    You all look wonderful and I know the guests enjoy it very much!
    thanks for helping Ft Steilacoom raise some funds!
    Nancy

    1. Aww, thank you so much, Nancy!

      We definitely missed you at the event, it was so odd to not have Mrs. Casey there! And there were several less reenactors at the tables this year, but the event went very well and I think the guests definitely enjoyed themselves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

