Contemporary Pattern · Modern Sewing · Musings

Saturday Morning Sewing

 

Yeah, I did just post a picture of me in my scottie dog pajamas and messy bedhead bun on the internet . . .

In terms of my creative process, Saturday mornings are often a rejuvinating period for me. The school week is over, I normally had a relaxing Friday night, and Saturday mornings are spent sleeping in and then waking up to do some sewing. It helps that here in the Pacific NW, Saturday mornings from 8 to 12:30 PBS runs sewing shows, most of which are incredibly inspiring in terms of both getting me to sew, and provind me with new project ideas (not that I need any more projects, mind you, but still). Normally I start watching around 9, when It’s Sew Easy comes on (prior to that, it’s just old lady quilting shows), followed by Sew it All. Usually, I’ll watch Sewing with Nancy afterwards and sometimes Martha’s Sewing Room (since she shows a lot of vintage garments), but the majority of the shows after that are old lady quilt shows, which I don’t really watch, with one exception: for lols, I’ll finish my Saturday morning sewing show marathon with Quilt in a Day. I rarely, if ever, quilt, but Eleanor Burns is such a crazy cool old quilt lady. Seriously, even if you don’t sew, I would recommend watching an episode of Quilt in a Day sometime. It’s hilariously entertaining (as well as informative!), and I hope I’m that vibrant when I’m her age.

So, that’s a typical Saturday morning for me. This morning I started watching my sewing shows while working on a new skirt (Simplicity 2512) which I cut out last year, but didn’t start sewing until last week. I plan on leaving the house to run some errands including a run to the post office, grocery shopping, and some thrifting. But, with 3 days off from school, I definitely plan on getting some major sewing done, including the skirt mentioned above and finishing the mock-up of my modern dress commission. I may also eke out a new tote bag, but we’ll see how that goes.

So, with that in mind, I’m looking forward to a long weekend of stitching, but I am curious: are weekends more productive for you in terms of sewing? And, if there are sewing shows in your area, do they inspire you to create?

Let me know what you think down in the comments. In the meantime, I’ll be entertainting myself with some sewing shows. And get dressed and brush my hair. Eventually. 😉

6 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Sewing

  1. I was looking through all of my patterns this morning and totally forgot I have that skirt pattern from Cynthia Rowley. I can’t wait to see yours!

  2. Good questions! I’ve never watched any sewing shows, mainly because my hubs tends to own the remote when he’s home on the weekends. 🙂 I struggle to be productive on the weekends– I work a LOT during the week, and Saturdays are the only day I have to sleep in, get stuff done around the house, etc. So some Saturdays I dive right into sewing, but usually I have to clean the house, go to the post office, and all that good stuff for hours before I can think about starting in on a project.

    1. I have a similar predicament as you, although in regards to going to school full-time (although I’m sure that business will transfer over once I have to enter the scary adult world of finding a job, lol). The fact that I just started a new quarter and it’s a 3-day weekend are definitely condusive to me having so much extra time to sew. Come midterms, that won’t be the case. 😉

  3. I’m still jealous that you can sew until noon, run errands and work in a little thrifting. Lucky girl.

    Post pics of your newest fashion creation when you’re finished.

    1. Actually, the snow sorta foiled the running errands plans yesterday. I waited until it stopped snowing, and by then the post office had closed. Then I realized that I was hungry and needed dinner, so I skipped the thrifting, ran to the grocery store real quick, and then went home. But, not having kids definitely helps in the free time department. 😉

Leave a Reply

