1850s · Holidays · Musings · Reenactments

The holidays, handmade

Wow, has it really been almost a month since my last post!? My deepest apologies, readers, I did not mean to go this long without posting, but November proved to be incredibly busy for me: midterms were followed by Thanksgiving and the start of the holiday season, and I feel like I’m finally starting to catch my breath. I’m still busy (going to school full-time really cuts in to my hobby time!), but I’m learning to manage my time better so that I can get more done during the day. Suffice it to say, I’m a big fan of the power nap. 😉

With that in mind, I’ve decided to do something I’ve always wanted to do: have a handmade Christmas! This year, I’ve decided to make most (if not all) of my gifts for family and friends. I think there’s something so personal and heartfelt in making a gift for somebody you love out of your own two hands, as opposed to just buying a gift card.

Handmade Christmas also extends to decorating. Okay, so this is also due to not having any discretionary income as a poor college student, but a huge amount of craft stuff. I was really into scrabooking during my preteen/early teenage years, and still have a ton of stuff from that time, including really colorful red and green matstacks that I’m using to make garlands out of:

Oh, and I also have a ton of ribbon! In some ways I feel a bit like Lydia in Pride and Prejudice (the 2006 version), skipping around while twirling ribbons. Sans the handsome British gents in tophats and riding horses, of course. 😉

The fireplace in the dining room of the Factor's House beautifully decorated for Christmas

Speaking of ribbons and a handmade Christmas, this past weekend was my last reenactment of the 2011 season, 19th century Christmas! Even though I could not stay for the whole thing, I had a fabulous time, playing parlor games and catching up with the lovely reenactors I’m fortunate to know.

Me in the parlor

It was really cold during the event, so I dressed in layer upon layer of wool. And I was really excited to be able to wear my red wool basque again (it’s both warm and festive!)

Anyways, my holiday party is this weekend, and I’m so excited! I’m really hoping I can squeze out a new dress for it (after much back and forth, I’ve decided that I want a red shirtdress! Luckily, I have the pattern and it’s one that I’ve used many times before), in between the writing of my 15-page paper(do they realy need to be this long!?) and decorating my place for the party this weekend. I hope you all are having a lovely holiday season thus far, in whatever way you choose (or don’t choose) to celebrate.

Alright, off to go take a power nap before working on my paper . . .

6 thoughts on “The holidays, handmade

  1. I think we need to have handsome British gents in top hats and riding horses come cantering through the fort. We should write a movie and put that in it. You could be the romantic lead.

    1. Wow, thank you for such an amazingly lovely comment! I’m tickled that you enjoy my blog so much and look forward to new posts. 🙂 I might have to stop taking month-long hiatuses in that case! 😉

      Oh, and you have a lovely website and make very beautiful reproductions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

