Finished! · Modern Sewing

Modern Sewing: Chuck’s Peach “Pigeon” Dress

I absolutely love the television series “Pushing Daisies.” Though sadly not on anymore, Pushing Daisies was set in a whimsical land of technicolor coloring and vintage cars, Pushing Daisies is about Ned (“the piemaker”), who runs a pie shop and has a gift of waking the dead (sounds morbid, I know, but it’s really not) with the touch of the finger. Normally, he uses this gift to solve crimes, keeping the dead person alive for 60 seconds to ask who killed them. If he keeps them alive for longer than 60 seconds, then someone else has to die.

Enter Charlotte “Chuck” Charles, his childhood sweetheart, who upon learning of her murder, uses his gift to wake her from the dead. Chuck is such an inspirational character, having a quirky sense of humor and wearing vintage and vintage-inspired clothes everyday. I would love to have a wardrobe of Chuck clothes, and after watching Episode 4 of Season 1 (Entitled “Pigeon”) I knew I had to have Chuck’s peach dress:

I found the perfect peach fabric at Hancock’s a few months ago, and used my trusty Vogue 8184 (which I also used to make the “red, white, and black all over dress”) along with a self-drafted, pleated skirt (like Chucks!) to whip up my own rendition:

The pie was made for a craft day that I went to yesterday, with one the gals that I went to high school with. She knows how to knit and I know how to sew and we decided to trade skills! It was incredibly fun and I’m now working on knitting a scarf (way easier than I thought it would be and such a fun and portable hobby).

Anyways, I wore this dress all day yesterday and I love it! So comfy, the skirt is nice and airy and worn with a cardigan over it, it’s perfect for that transition between summer and fall. Oh, and also great for Self-Stitched September. 😉

5 thoughts on “Modern Sewing: Chuck’s Peach “Pigeon” Dress

  1. How awesome! I simply adore all of chucks wardrobe, and this dress certainly does it justice! Whenever I am lacking inspiration, I throw on some “Pushing Daisies” and then i’m right back on track….. the downside is I always feel like eating pie too 🙂

    1. Thank you so much and thanks for visiting my blog! And I totally agree, Pushing Daisies is just great wardrobe inspiration and I love almost everything that Chuck wears, with the caveat of being inspired to eat pie, as well, 😉

      Your circle skirts are fabulous, btw!

Leave a Reply

