Modern Sewing · SSS '11

SSS ’11, Days 1 & 2

I so meant yesterday to be the start of my Self-Stitched September Challenge, but unfortunately, I’ve been experiencing some food poisoning this week, and was still feeling a little icky yesterday. I’m feeling much better day, with way more energy and 5 pounds lighter! Yep, the food poisoning was *that* bad, and while I definitely like that I’ve lost part of my vacation weight that I put on eating all sorts of yummy European food, I definitely don’t advocate food poisoning as a means of losing weight. đŸ˜‰

With that in mind, today kicked off my first day of Self-Stitched September!

White and blue striped nautical t-shirt – H&M, Poland

Skirt – Made by me

Petti-slip – Made by me

Today was spent doing some errands (went thrifting and found some stuff for my new place, and stopped by Joanns to pick up some patterns – holy Hannah, are they busy!) and some chores around the house. I absolutely love this outfit! It’s so comfy, and one that has definitely gotten lots of wear this summer.

I can’t remember when I made the skirt (I think it was this past spring?), but it’s made out of about a yard of remnant black wool. The pattern is just a rectangle with box pleats that I added evenly around until I got to my waist measurement. I got the idea by seeing something similar on a skirt by some online retailer that I can’t remember now, and realizing that I could make my own for a fraction of the cost. So I did. This is actually how lots of my sewing projects come about, btw.

Also, I should mention my petticoat slip!

I’m wearing it under the skirt (no photos of it on me, though. Too scandalous!) and it’s based off of one that I saw at Anthrpologie at an astronomical price. The slip is 3 tiers of fabric (muslin and then 2 thicker eyelet fabrics) and has an elastic waistband. I wear this thing under almost of all of my modern clothes that don’t have built-in slips and it’s so amazingly comfy. And I think it happens to look really cute, too. đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

