Blogging · Circle skirt sew along · Modern Sewing · Sew alongs · SSS '11

Sewing along with some fabulous bloggers

I thought I’d take a moment to share some of my upcoming modern sewing projects with you all.

First up is Casey’s Circle Skirt Sew Along! Elegant Musings has been such a source of inspiration for me since stumbling upon it about 2 years ago. I also would love to make a new circle skirt after having such luck with the first cirlce skirt I made, and am definitely looking forward to drafting one for my own measurements.

Finally, I’ll also be participating in Self Stitched September 2011.

Fabulous sewing blogger Zoe has come up with SSS ’11 as a way to push seamstresses to incorporate more of their handmade garments into their everyday lives. Sewing my own modern clothing is something that I’m so passionate about, particularily since our clothing choices today tend to be dictated by corporations that produce shoddy items sewn by poor sweatshop workers. I feel like this challenge is a push to the next level of avoiding modern-day consumer culture by trying to wear something that I’ve sewn myself everyday. While I’m not aiming to be dressed head-to-toe in annaintechnicolor creations, I do want to try to wear at least one me-made item everyday. So with that in mind, I, Anna of annaintechnicolor, sign up as a participant of Self Stitched September ’11. I endeavor to wear one me-made item each day for the duration of September 2011.

4 thoughts on “Sewing along with some fabulous bloggers

  1. I love your mention of sweat shop workers. I am not a seamstress, but like you I care about independence and breaking free of “the grid” as much as I can.

    I do things other than sew – often dictated by my poverty, but which I’ve come to appreciate.

    For example, I don’t have a car — because I can’t afford one. But I walk everywhere, and … it’s so odd … people coming up to me in public and complimenting me as if I were doing something special by walking from here to there. People assign nicknames to me. The latest one here in Paterson, “The Trooper.” So, you are the seamstress and I am the trooper and we both are tasting some of the self-sufficiency that our landed ancestors in Poland took for granted.

    1. Thanks, Danusha! And I think swimming against the current and questioning the “status quo” can be a very good thing. That’s so interesting about the car thing . . . going to school in a big city like Seattle, walking/talking public transportation is less of a hassle than trying to get everywhere with a car. And it’s also more cost effective, too. 😉 Just goes to show how far we’ve come as a society when walking used to be the norm . . .

Leave a Reply

