Blogging · Modern Sewing

I’m Back!

Hello, lovelies! I’m back from an amazing stint in Europe, which included:

A trip to London to look at graduate schools! However, we also stopped by some other cool places including the British Museum, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Madame Tussauds and the V&A. Tragic news at the V&A, however – they’re moving their costume collection to a separate facility and so that part of the museum is now permanently closed. Yes, the one thing I was most excited to see in London was closed. Such is my luck.

Despite this, London is such an amazing city and 2 days was unfortunately not enough time to see everything. Definitely looking forward to going back sometime soon, though!

I also spent 4 weeks in Krakow doing summer school, improving my language skills and taking an art history class which involved the most amazing field trips to cathedrals and museums and historic sites. I met a ton of really cool people from all over the world who made the experience really great.

Speaking of cool people who made the experience great, I also met this really cute Polish kid named Dominic who lives in NY and is studying Poli Sci. We met in art history class and bonded over a shared sense of humor and love of Poland. And believe you me, going from chronically single for a long time and believing that I would end up an old woman with 6 cats and a hoarded house (worse, in my opinion, than Bridget Jones’s fear of being eaten by dogs) has been an interesting experience. We’re keeping in touch via phone and Skype until I go to visit Parson’s in NY over winter break.

Ice cream definitely tastes better when you share it with a cute Polish boy!

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this here, but I want to go to grad school for fashion history, and the only places that really have programs for this are based in New York and London. And it’s so great that everything is sort of falling in to place and that I was considering going to this school way before I met this guy. I’ll stop gushing, but I just have to say that falling in love in one of the oldest cities in Europe during study abroad and in a class where we looked at such amazing art work was just fabulous. My friends back home have told me to write a novel about it, and we’ve already (jokingly) discussed who would play us in the event that they adapted said novel into a film. For the record, I’ve always said that I would want to be played by Ellen Page if they ever made a film about my life, and I think Dominic should totally be played by Leo Dicaprio. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I also got a cooking lesson from my Polish auntie! She taught me to make golabki (cabbage rolls) authentically, as all of the recipes I’ve used thus far haven’t turned out too good. I made us matching aprons before I left, so that was a ton of fun. For those of you interested, I used this apron pattern.

Anyways, 6 weeks without sewing was definitely too long! I was starting to experience sewing machine withdrawal, and luckily that is being remedied now. I should start working on finishing up some underpinnings for this weekend’s reenactment, but I’m currently working on a summer dress (it’s black, white, and red, one of my favorite color combos!). Going to Europe this summer definitely made me realize that I have too few summer dresses, and I found this gorgeous painted linen/cotton fabric that will be perfect.

Oh, and new blog layout, as well! When WP came out with this during the summer, I knew I just had to have it! It’s incredibly classy and I definitely prefer how older posts are layed out than in the previous layout. Of course, I am always open to thoughts and suggestions about ways to improve the blog, so if you have any thoughts about the layout, please leave them in the comments! Until then, hope you’re enjoying your summer, and happy sewing!

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. Wow, sounds like you had an amazing trip! Loved reading about it! You made me laugh about your filming plans – I think that Ellen Page would make a great Anna ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

