1850s · Reenactments

Queen Victoria’s Birthday

Reenacting really is the strangest hobby, isn’t it? For the record, I’m the only one in my family that does reenacting, and despite pleas when I was younger for the ‘rents and my little sis to join, I actually like doing the hobby solo, as it gives me a much needed breather and such a fabulous creative outlet. Anyways, my point is that my family has gotten used to seeing me in funny costumes from the 1850s and in various states of dress in these funny costumes. Mom asked what the reenactment was this weekend that I was going to, and when I said “Queen Victoria’s Birthday” I got a chuckle. Which is to be expected when you volunteer at a living history museum that portrays a British fur trading post and celebrates the birthday of an English monarch long dead and buried.

I’ve put all of my photos from the event here, but I wanted to share the few I posted here since I think they’ve become so emblematic of my recent reenacting. I just love the parlor and chowing down on delicious cakes and sipping tea while sewing or chatting about sewing. Since this event is kind of “fancy” I wore my trimmed wool dress that I have dubbed the “Neopolitan ice cream dress” since it is pink, white, and brown. Originally a basque, I chopped off the bottom portion of it when I couldn’t get the fit quite right and instead did some trim on the front based on an extant dress from 1856.

Upper-class is definitely a portrayl that I prefer, although next month my dear friend Nona and I are going to try our hand at cooking and lower-class wear when we enter the period cooking competition. We’re gonna wear loud plaid aprons, although we’re still figuring out what to cook. Any suggestions? Some kid at the reenactment suggest chocolate-chip cookies, but I think he wanted some cookies for himself more than anything.

Also, there’s still a ton of stuff for sale in the Spring Cleaning post, so do take a gander if you’re looking for fabric, reproduction garments, or patterns.

8 thoughts on “Queen Victoria’s Birthday

    1. Aww, thank you! And it is fabulous to have lovely antiques as a backdrop for pictures with your mid-19th century creations!

      It was so lovely seeing you at the reenactment. And you were a terrific dance caller. 😉

      1. Awesome! I think I’m going to sew a pocket into my new apron, just for the fun of it. I think I may wear my old blue cotton fan-front dress, but I’ll need to lengthen it an inch or so.

        1. Yeah, I’ve decided that I’m just gonna wear my fan-front dress, but take the lace off of the cuffs. Soooo do not have time to make a new dress! But I do wanna make a crazy plaid pinner paron, and having a pocket sounds like a good idea. Auntie B showed me the invisible pocket that she had on the inside of her apron, and it’s really handy to store modern things like car keys and chapstick.

  1. When and if you sell this dress in the future will you please let me know, I would LOVE to buy it from you. Thanks and I love your site. Caitlin

    1. Thanks so much for your very sweet comment! I don’t have any plans to sell this dress right now; however, I do still have the pattern and take commissions, if you would like an exact copy of this dress custom-sewn for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

