Black & White Polka Dot Top

IMG_1810

Modern tops that fit are sorely lacking in my wardrobe (I’ve had a bit of a weight gain since moving to Portland, but that’s a whole ‘nother post), and so when I saw this pattern in the Simplicity catalog on a recent fabric shopping trip, I knew it would be a great staple to have. I made version E almost exactly (sans the black strip down the middle), but I did decide to fully line it (polyester chiffon is so sheer, who knew!), which the pattern doesn’t call for. Including a lining made this project take twice as long as it should have, but you can’t really see my undergarments through it, so mission accomplished.

IMG_1840

I also made my own bias tape out of the lining fabric to finish the raw edges of the armholes ( I like to use self-fabric bias tape whenever possible, as it wears better with the garment, uses up more of the project fabric, and you can cut it to any width you need, as opposed to the packaged stuff).

 

IMG_1837

The top is closed with a button-fastening at center back, which makes it super easy to wear.  I also made my first thread loop (there’s no buttonhole! Yay!), which was way easier than I thought it would be. The pattern also has great instructions on how to do this, along with a diagram, which was super helpful. That being said, the back is a bit saggy, and I don’t know if that’s due to the pattern design, or my button choice being too heavy. In any event, it’s still very comfortable and versatile to wear, especially when making friends with neighborhood cats (this one happened to only have 3 legs, but she was such a sweetie!).

Me and Montage

All in all, I’m quite pleased with how this project turned out and will definitely be making another! Do you have a go-to top pattern? Let me know down in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Black & White Polka Dot Top

  1. What a charming, classic top. The style and colours are chic and playful at the same time, and look very pretty on you, sweet dear (plus, they remind me that I really need to bust out my own Peter Pan collared shirts more often).

    Big hugs & many thanks for your wonderful comment on today’s outfit post,
    ♥ Jessica

    • Thank you for leaving such a lovely comment, Jessica! I’m so glad you got mine on your blog, I wasn’t quite sure it had gone through, as it was nowhere to be seen after I hit “post!”

Leave a Reply

