Happy Dress Like a Georgian Day!

IMG_0348

Well, readers, today was the completely made-up (yet nonetheless absolutely fabulous) holiday of Dress Like a Georgian Day. For those of you not familiar with costume history, the Georgian period encompassed the years 1714-1830, with a brief stint in the early 19th century for the Regency period (since that tyrant George III went crazy-pants). It’s a period of luxurious fabrics, fluctuating hip size, and powdered wigs, and which definitely deserves its own holiday!

IMG_0350

Here in the Pacific Northwest, the Puget Sound Ladies Costume Society paid homage to the occasion with a little tea party (since we ladies do like to party hard!). All of the ladies looked lovely, and it was so fun to see this era brought to life! 18th century fashion history (particularily the 1770s) was my first love when I got bit by the costuming bug, but there aren’t really any events out here in WA state to commemorate this time period (which is one of the reasons PSLCS was created!).

IMG_0349

Of course, being annaintechnicolor, I had grand plans of creating a whole 18th century wardrobe from the skin out for just this occasion. Ha! I really don’t know why I kid myself anymore. ;)

IMG_0354

So, I decided to go modern with 18th-century inspired touches, which worked out great for me since it was hotter than Hades today. This was my first costume event where I wasn’t dressed up in a costume, and I have to say I don’t feel as guilty about it as I thought I would. Sure, it would’ve been great to wear 5 layers of clothing along with all the other ladies, but with everything else I have on my plate, I’m good on that for now – I’m sure there will be Dress Like a Georgian Day in 2014. ;)

10 thoughts on “Happy Dress Like a Georgian Day!

  1. Anna, thank you so much for inspiring us to get together. That was a lovely afternoon and I got a shot to wear one of my most complete costumes I ever created. /hugs/

Leave a Reply

